fig. 1
Nur für registrierte Nutzer
fig. 2
Nur für registrierte Nutzer
fig. 3
Nur für registrierte Nutzer
fig. 4
Nur für registrierte Nutzer
fig. 5
Nur für registrierte Nutzer

| IMC Wiki | Special pathology of salivary glands

Special pathology of salivary glands

  • Home
  • Search
  • Articles alphabetically
  • Categories

<< back



Listed topics

Aetiological classification of salivary gland disorders

Aetiology Examples
Deformities Aplasia (rare), hypoplasia, ectopic salivary gland tissue, ductal atresia
Inflammation (sialadenitis)
(Seifert 1995)
Bacterial sialadenitis Acute bacterial sialadenitis (ascending, suppurative, abscess-forming, and post-operative sialadenitis)
Viral sialadenitis Mumps (epidemic parotitis), CMV, coxsackie virus, HIV-associated salivary gland changes)
Chronic recurrent parotitis
Chronic sclerosing sialadenitis of the submandibular glands (Küttner's tumour)
Obstructive (traumatic) sialadenitis Papillary obstruction, sialolithiasis, mucocoele (mucous cyst), ranula (sublingual cyst)
Radiation sialadenitis Following radiotherapy
Immune sialadenitis Acute allergic sialadenitis,
Chronic epitheloid-cell sialadenitis (Heerfordt's syndrome, Boeck's disease, sarcoidosis),
Chronic myoepithelial autoimmune sialadenitis (Sjögren's syndrome)
Other granulomatous forms of sialadenitis Giant-cell sialadenitis,
Sialadenitis following sialography
Sialadenitis of the minor salivary glands
Necrotising sialometaplasia Salivary gland infarction
Other rare forms of sialadenitis Tuberculosis, actinomycosis, syphilis
Neoplasia
Benign tumours Pleomorphic adenoma
Warthin's tumour (cystadenoma lymphomatosum), etc.
Malignant tumours Mucoepidermoid carcinoma
Adenoidcystic carcinoma
Acinic cell carcinoma
Adenocarcinoma NOS
Squamous cell carcinoma, etc.
Other Sialadenosis (sialosis)

Deformities

Aplasia and hypoplasia of the salivary glands are rare. They may be associated with deformity syndromes of the face combined with other deformities. Aplasia of all salivary glands is rare; resulting xerostomia is associated with increased susceptibility to infection and premature tooth loss. Hypoplasia of a salivary gland, though, is functionally compensated for by the other salivary glands.

Ectopic salivary glands (dislocated, but regularly structured salivary gland tissue), accessory salivary glands (perfectly functioning additional glands with a duct system), and aberrant salivary glands (heterotopic, do not function, do not have ducts, for instance, in regional lymph nodes) are frequently only detected as a result of complications (mucocoele, inflammation, salivary fistulas or salivary gland tumours).

 back up

Salivary gland inflammation (sialadenitis)

The most frequent salivary gland disorders are acute bacterial and viral inflammations (sialadenitis, sialangitis). Infection is due to ascending spread via the ducts, haematogenous or lymphogenous spread. The acute suppurative and often abscess-forming sialadenitis is usually caused by streptococci and/or staphylococci. Post-operative parotitis, secondary to changes in fluid and electrolyte balance, is a special, and often bilateral, form of the disease. Small salivary glands are also often affected by stomatitis.

Chronic or recurrent inflammation leads to atrophy and fibrosis of the parenchyma. Küttner's tumour of the submandibular gland, or sclerosing sialadenitis, is a special form. This is a lymphocytic, and later sclerosing, sialadenitis associated with swelling and tumour-like firmness and flap changes (cirrhosis of the salivary glands). The scarring inflammation spreads to the surrounding tissues of the salivary gland so that malignant tumours must be excluded in differential diagnosis. This disorder accounts for approx. 30% of all cases of chronic sialadenitis, occurring in men more frequently than in women.
#pic#

Another special form is radiation sialadenitis which may lead to atrophy and fibrosis, depending on the dose.

Epidemic parotitis (mumps) and cytomegalovirus (CMV) infection are examples of viral sialadenitis. Mumps is an endemic disorder transferred by droplet infection and occurring almost commonly in school age. It usually manifests as a bilateral painful swelling of the parotid glands. In adults, bilateral orchitis is a serious late complication of mumps which may result in testicular atrophy and infertility. Unilateral or bilateral deafness may also develop if the nervous system is affected. Histologically, acinic cell necrosis, alteration of the ductal epithelium and a pronounced interstitial lymphocytic and plasmacellular infiltrate with concomitant oedema may be seen.

Cytomegaly affects small children and recurs in adults in people who are immune-compromised. Cells affected by virus replication are swollen and contain viral nuclei; the pathognomonic owl's eye cells develop.

 back up

Immune-mediated diseases

Salivary glands are affected by various granulomatous disorders, auto-immune disorders and collagen diseases (inflammatory connective tissue disorders).

Sjögren's syndrome (Sicca syndrome, lymphoepithelial sialadenitis) is characterised by increasingly dry mouth and eyes, occasionally also affecting the vagina and the skin. It is due to chronic lymphocytic inflammation of exocrine glands with destruction of the glandular parenchyma. It often occurs sporadically and mostly in pre-climacteric women.

Based on scientific knowledge, the disorder is nowadays classified in two groups: Primary Sjögren's syndrome consists of salivary gland and eye symptoms (xerostomia, dry keratoconjunctivitis), while secondary Sjögren's syndrome is characterised by its association with other connective-tissue disorders (e.g. rheumatoid arthritis).

Diagnosis can be histologically proved by biopsy of the small salivary glands in the lips. Mason and Chisholm histologically determined the stages depending on the extent of: gland atrophy, lymphocytic infiltrate and myoepithelial proliferates (the latter may be absent in the small glands; in this case the severity is determined according to Cummings et al.). In rare cases, salivary glands affected by Sjögren's syndrome produce a small-cell lymphoma of mucosa-associated lymphatic tissue (MALT lymphoma).
#pic#

Sjögren's syndrome may also occur as a symmetric bilateral disease of the lacrimal and salivary glands and is then referred to as Mikulicz's disease (myoepithelial autoimmune sialadenitis). However, Mikulicz's disease is not yet clearly defined in literature since some authors also refer to symmetric infiltrates of leukaemia and lymphoma as Mikulicz's disease.

Heerfordt's syndrome (uveoparotid fever) is characterised by fever, uveitis and usually symmetrical and painful swelling of the parotid gland; it is considered an extra-pulmonary manifestation of sarcoidosis with epitheloid-cell granulomas of the sarcoidosis type in salivary gland parenchyma and periglandular and intraglandular lymph nodes.
#pic#

 back up

Sialolithiasis

The development of salivary stones (analogous to urolithiasis and cholecystolithiasis) impairs the drainage of saliva and favours a secondary inflammation (sialadenitis). Stones occur most frequently in the submandibular gland (approx. 83%), and more rarely in the parotid (10%) and sublingual glands (7%). The exact origin remains unclear; factors favouring the condition are metabolic disorders (hypercalcaemia, diabetes mellitus, gout), duct obstruction with secretion build-up, and the occurrence of particular crystallisation foci secondary to inflammation.

Clinically, the stones cause swellings which are often related to mealtimes and sometimes moderate to severe pain. In the long term, they lead to chronic sialadenitis and atrophy. Further complications are ascending suppurative sialadenitis and abscesses with the formation of internal or external fistulas.
#pic#
#pic#

 back up

Cysts of the salivary glands

Non-neoplastic cysts account for 6% of all salivary gland disorders, 75% of which are mucoceles, often the result of trauma due to accidental biting of the lips or cheeks. Real mucoceles (retention mucoceles) possess an epithelial lining while extravasation mucoceles are limited by an inflammatory product with many foam-cell macrophages (muciphages). Salivary gland cysts will be discussed in more detail together with other soft-tissue cysts

Cystic lymphoid hyperplasia associated with AIDS

Cystic lymphoid hyperplasia of the parotid gland is an early sign of HIV infection. It typically manifests before the actual onset of AIDS as a painless unilateral or bilateral swelling of the parotid gland with concomitant cervical lymphadenopathy and affects 5% of all HIV-positive patients. The cystic cavities in the parotids, of variable lumen size, can be detected via imaging techniques (ultrasound, MRI) and macroscopically. Under the microscope, the cysts are lined with squamous cells between which there is lymphatic tissue with hyperplastic lymph follicles.

 back up

Sialadenosis

Sialadenosis is a non-inflammatory, non-neoplastic parenchymatous disease affecting, above all, the parotid gland. It is associated with endocrine disturbances (especially hypophyseal and thyroid gland disease), dystrophy (liver disease, starvation), neurogenic disturbances, or may occur as an adverse response to medication (e.g. long-term treatment with antihypertensives). Pathogenetically, there is a peripheral autonomous neuropathy associated with a disorder of secondary salivary secretion. Males and females are equally affected, with a peak age incidence between 40 and 70.

Clinically, a chronic recurrent, painless, usually bilateral and afebrile enlargement of the gland, not associated with meal times, is seen, most commonly, in the lower pole of the parotid. The earlobes are displaced laterally. The histological picture is characterised by swollen acini filled with granules of secretion resulting in a two- to three-fold increase in diameter. As a result, the duct system seems compressed.

 back up

Necrotising sialometaplasia

It is the result of an ischaemic insult (salivary gland infarction), usually of the palate. Men are more frequently affected than women (8:1). Most patients are heavy smokers, so that necrotising sialometaplasia is considered a late stage of smoker's palate. Clinically, initial small painful swellings that occur in the palate may ulcerate later. The histological picture is characterised by squamous cell metaplasia of the duct epithelium with a surrounding inflammatory reaction.

An inexperienced examiner may easily mistake the histological picture for squamous cell carcinoma!!!


 back up

Abb. 1
Only for registered users
Abb. 2
Only for registered users
Abb. 3
Only for registered users
Abb. 4
Only for registered users
Abb. 5
Only for registered users

| IMC Wiki | Speicheldrüsenpathologie: speziell

Speicheldrüsenpathologie: speziell

  • Start
  • Suche
  • von A bis Z
  • Kategorien

<< zurück



Ätiologische Klassifikation der Speicheldrüsenerkrankungen

Ätiologie Beispiele
Fehlbildungen Aplasie (selten), Hypoplasie, ektopische Speicheldrüsen, duktale Atresie
Entzündungen (Sialadenitiden)
(nach Seifert 1995)
bakterielle Sialadenitis akute bakterielle Sialadenitis (aszendierend, eitrig-purulent, abszedierend, postoperativ)
virale Sialadenitis Mumps (Parotitis epidemica), CMV, Coxsackieviren, HIV-assoziierte Veränderungen der Speicheldrüsen)
chronisch-rezidivierende Parotitis
chronisch-sklerosierende Sialadenitis der Gl. submandibularis (Küttner-Tumor)
obstruktive (traumatische) Sialadenitis papilläre Obstruktion, Sialolithiasis, Mukozele, Ranula
Strahlen-Sialadenitis nach Radiotherapie
Immun-Sialadenitis akute allergische Sialadenitis,
chronische epitheloidzellige Sialadenitis (Heerfordt-Syndrom, Morbus Boeck, Sarkoidose),
chronische myoepitheliale Autoimmun-Sialadenitis (Sjögren-Syndrom)
sonstige granulomatöse Formen der Sialadenitis Riesenzell-Sialadenitis,
Sialadenitis nach Sialographie
Sialadenitis der kleinen Speicheldrüsen
nekrotisierende Sialometaplasie Speicheldrüseninfarkt
sonstige seltene Formen der Sialadenits Tuberkulose, Aktinomykose, Lues
Neoplasien
benigne Tumoren pleomorphes Adenom
Warthin-Tumor (Zystadenolymphom) usw.
maligne Tumoren Mukoepidermoidkarzinom
adenoid-zystisches Karzinom
Azinuszellkarzinom
Adenokarzinome NOS
Plattenepithelkarzinom usw.
sonstiges Sialadenose

Fehlbildungen

Aplasie und Hypoplasie der Speicheldrüsen sind selten. Sie kommen bei Fehlbildungssyndromen kombiniert mit anderen Fehlbildungen des Gesichtes vor. Die Aplasie aller Speicheldrüsen ist eine Rarität, und die daraus resultierende Xerostomie geht mit erhöhter Anfälligkeit für Infektionen und zu frühzeitigem Zahnverlust einher. Die Hypoplasie einer Speicheldrüse dagegen wird funktionell durch die übrigen Speicheldrüsen kompensiert.

Ektope Speicheldrüsen (verlagertes, aber strukturell regelrecht aufgebautes Speicheldrüsengewebe), akzessorische Speicheldrüsen (zusätzlich zu den normalen Drüsen entwickelt, dabei funktionsfähig und mit Gangsystem) sowie aberrierende Speicheldrüsen (heterotop, funktionslos, ohne Gangsystem, z. B. in regionären Lymphknoten) werden häufig erst durch Komplikationen (Mukozelen, Entzündungen, Speichelfisteln oder Speicheldrüsentumoren) entdeckt.

Speicheldrüsenentzündungen (Sialadenitiden)

Die zumeist bakteriell und viral bedingten akuten Entzündungen (Sialadenitis, Sialangitis) sind die häufigsten Speicheldrüsenerkrankungen. Die Infektionen entstehen über eine kanalikuläre, hämatogene oder lymphogene Ausbreitung. Die akute eitrige, oft auch abszedierende Sialadenitis wird meist durch Streptokokken und Staphylokokken ausgelöst. Die postoperative Parotitis, begünstigt durch Elektrolytverschiebungen und Wasserverlust, ist eine oft auch beidseitig auftretende, besondere Verlaufsform. Oft sind bei einer Stomatitis auch kleine Speicheldrüsen betroffen.

Eine chronische bzw. rezidivierende Entzündung führt zur Atrophie und Vernarbung des Parenchyms. Eine Sonderform ist dabei der sog. Küttner-Tumor der Gl. submandibularis. Hierbei handelt es sich um eine lymphozytäre, im Spätstadium sklerosierende Sialadenitis, die mit einer Schwellung und tumorartigen Verhärtung sowie Lappenumbau ("Speicheldrüsenzirrhose") einhergeht. Dabei greift die vernarbende Entzündung auf die Umgebung der Speicheldrüse über, sodass differenzialdiagnostisch ein maligner Tumor ausgeschlossen werden muss. Diese Erkrankung macht ca. 30% aller chronischen Sialadenitiden aus; Männer sind häufiger betroffen als Frauen.
#pic#

Eine weitere Sonderform ist die Strahlen-Sialadenitis, die bei entsprechender Dosis ebenfalls in eine Atrophie und Fibrose übergeht.

Unter den viralen Sialadenitiden sind die Parotitis epidemica (Mumps, Ziegenpeter) und die Zytomegalovirus (CMV)-Infektion zu nennen. Mumps ist eine endemische Krankheit, die durch Tröpfcheninfektion übertragen wird und vor allem im Schulkindalter auftritt. Sie fällt durch eine meist bilaterale, schmerzhafte Schwellung der Gl. parotis auf. Vor allem bei Erwachsenen ist als Spätkomplikation die beidseitige Orchitis besonders gefürchtet, die eine Hodenatrophie mit Inferitilität zur Folge haben kann. Außerdem kann bei Befall des Nervensystems eine ein- oder beidseitige Taubheit zurückbleiben. Das histologische Bild ist gekennzeichnet durch Azinuszellnekrosen, Epithelalterationen des Gangsystems und ein ausgeprägtes interstitielles lymphozytär-plasmazelluläres Infiltrat mit Begleitödem.

Die Zytomegalie befällt Kleinkinder und rezidiviert bei Abwehrschwäche auch im Erwachsenenalter. Die von der Virusreplikation betroffenen Zellen sind geschwollen und enthalten virale Kerneinschlüsse, es entstehen die pathognomonischen so genannten "Eulenaugenzellen".

Immunmediierte Erkrankungen

Die Speicheldrüsen sind bei verschiedenen granulomatösen Erkrankungen, Autoimmunerkrankungen und Kollagenosen (entzündliche Bindegewebserkrankungen) mit einbezogen.

Das Sjögren-Syndrom (Sicca-Syndrom, lymphoepitheliale Sialadenitis) ist durch eine zunehmende Trockenheit von Mund und Augen - gelegentlich auch von Vagina und Haut - aufgrund einer chronischen lymphozytären Entzündung exokriner Drüsen mit Zerstörung des Drüsenparenchyms gekennzeichnet. Sie tritt oft in Schüben und vorzugsweise bei Frauen im Präklimakterium auf.

Wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen zufolge wird die Erkrankung heute in zwei Gruppen unterteilt. Das primäre Sjögren Syndrom besteht aus Speicheldrüsen- und Augensymptomen (Xerostomie, Keratoconjunctivitis sicca), während das sekundäre Sjögren-Syndrom neben der Beteiligung der Speicheldrüsen und/oder der Augen auch durch andere Bindegewebskrankheiten (z. B. rheumatoide Arthritis) gekennzeichnet ist.

Die Diagnose lässt sich mittels Biopsie der kleinen Lippenspeicheldrüsen histologisch sichern. Histologische Stadieneinteilung nach Mason und Chisholm nach Ausmaß von: Drüsenatrophie, lymphozytärem Infiltrat und myoepithelialen Proliferaten (die letzteren können in den kleinen Speicheldrüsen fehlen, dort erfolgt die Schweregradeinteilung nach Cummings et al.). In seltenen Fällen geht aus den vom Sjögren-Syndrom betroffenen Speicheldrüsen ein niedrig malignes Lymphom des schleimhautassoziierten lymphatischen Gewebes (MALT-Lymphom) hervor.
#pic#

Das Sjögren-Syndrom kann auch in Form einer symmetrischen beidseitigen Tränen- und Speicheldrüsenerkrankung auftreten und wird dann als Mikulicz-Krankheit (myoepitheliale Autoimmun-Sialadenitis) bezeichnet. Der Begriff des Mikulicz-Syndroms ist in der Literatur jedoch ungenau definiert, da einige Autoren hierunter auch symmetrische Infiltrate von Leukämien und Lymphomen verstehen.

Das Heerfordt-Syndrom (Febris uveoparotidea) ist durch Fieber, Uveitis und meist symmetrische, schmerzhafte Parotisschwellung charakterisiert und gilt als extrapulmonale Manifestation der Sarkoidose mit epitheloidzelligen Granulomen vom Sarkoidose-Typ im Speicheldrüsenparenchym und den peri- und intraglandulären Lymphknoten.
#pic#

Sialolithiasis

Die Speichelsteinbildung (in Analogie zur Uro- und Cholezystolithiasis) behindert den Abfluss des Speichels und begünstigt die Entstehung einer sekundären Entzündung (Sialadenitis). Am häufigsten treten Steine in der Gl. submandibularis (ca. 83%), seltener dagegen in der Gl. parotis (10%) und der Gl. sublingualis (7%) auf. Die genaue Ursache ist unklar; begünstigende Faktoren sind metabolische Störungen (Hyperkalzämie, Diabetes mellitus, Gicht), Gangobstruktionen mit Sekretstau und das Auftreten partikulärer Kristallisationszentren, z. B. bei Entzündungen.

Klinisch äußern sich die Steine durch nahrungsabhängige, oft sehr schmerzhafte Schwellungen, ggf. auch Koliken. Langfristig kommt es zu einer chronischen Sialadenitis und zur Atrophie. Weitere Komplikationen sind die aszendierende eitrige Sialadenitis sowie Abszesse mit Bildung innerer oder äußerer Fisteln.
#pic# #pic#

Speicheldrüsenzysten

Die nicht-neoplastischen Zysten machen ca. 6% aller Speicheldrüsenerkrankungen aus. 75% davon sind Mukozelen, die meistens durch Bissverletzungen in den kleinen Speicheldrüsen, bevorzugt in den Lippen, entstehen. Echte Mukozelen (Retentionsmukozelen) haben eine epitheliale Auskleidung, Extravasationsmukozelen dagegen werden von einem Entzündungsprodukt mit hohem Gehalt an schaumzelligen Makrophagen (Muziphagen) begrenzt. Die Speicheldrüsenzysten werden zusammen mit anderen Weichteilzysten diskutiert.

Zystische lymphoide Hyperplasie bei AIDS

Die zystische lymphoide Hyperplasie der Glandula parotis ist eine frühe Manifestation der HIV-Infektion. Sie manifestiert sich typischerweise vor dem eigentlichen Ausbruch von AIDS in Form einer schmerzlosen, uni- oder bilateralen Schwellung der Gl. parotis mit begleitender zervikaler Lymphadenopathie. 5% aller HIV-positiven Patienten sind betroffen. Die unterschiedlich großlumigen zystischen Hohlräume in der Parotis sind sowohl durch Bildgebung als auch makroskopisch nachweisbar. Mikroskopisch sind die Zysten von Plattenepithel ausgekleidet, dazwischen befindet sich lymphatisches Gewebe mit hyperplastischen Lymphfollikeln.

Sialadenose

Die Sialadenose ist eine nicht-entzündliche, nicht-neoplastische parenchymatöse Erkrankung, die vor allem die Glandula parotis befällt. Sie tritt im Zusammenhang mit endokrinen Störungen (insbesondere bei Hypophysen- und Schilddrüsenerkrankungen), bei Dystrophien (Lebererkrankungen, Hunger), bei neurogenen Störungen oder als Ausdruck von Medikamentennebenwirkungen (z. B. Langzeitbehandlung mit Antihypertensiva) auf. Pathogenetisch spielt eine Innervationsstörung im Rahmen einer peripheren autonomen Neuropathie mit sekundärer Speichelsekretionsstörung eine wichtige Rolle. Beide Geschlechter sind etwa gleich häufig betroffen; der Häufigkeitsgipfel liegt zwischen 40 und 70 Jahren.

Klinisch liegt eine chronisch-rezidivierende, schmerzlose, meist bilaterale, afebrile, von der Nahrungsaufnahme unabhängige Drüsenschwellung vor. Die Schwellung ist häufig am unteren Parotispol betont, sodass die Ohrläppchen abgehoben sind. Das histologische Bild ist durch geschwollene, prall mit Sekretgranula gefüllte Azini mit einem zwei- bis dreifach vergrößerten Durchmesser gekennzeichnet. Das Gangsystem erscheint deshalb komprimiert.

Nekrotisierende Sialometaplasie

Sie ist das Ergebnis eines ischämischen Insults (Speicheldrüseninfarkt), meist am Gaumen. Männer sind häufiger betroffen als Frauen (8:1). Die meisten Patienten sind starke Raucher, sodass die nekrotisierende Sialometaplasie als Spätstadium des Rauchergaumens betrachtet wird. Klinisch treten zunächst kleine schmerzhafte Schwellungen am Gaumen auf, die später ulzerieren können. Das histologische Bild ist durch Plattenepithelmetaplasie des Gangepithels mit umgebender Entzündungsreaktion gekennzeichnet.

Ein unerfahrener Untersucher kann das histologische Bild leicht mit einem Plattenepithelkarzinom verwechseln!!!